Pease Street was named after Hull’s most famous banker, Joseph Robinson Pease, possibly because he had invested in the turnpike road to Anlaby and Kirkella, but more likely that he was such a prominent citizen when the road was being constructed. Pease Street was first laid-out c.1844 from the Adelaide Street (south) end, but was extended north to meet Anlaby Road in the 1860s. The extension to join Anlaby Road crossed land owned by the Broadley family. Very little of the street line now remains and there are no original buildings, most of them having been cleared in the mass 1950s/60s compulsory purchase schemes.
Several new buildings were constructed, west of the new Pease Street, in the 1860s; extending as far as the junction with Great Thornton Street, the long row of property was named Frederika Terrace. The new terrace consisted mostly of houses, some with front gardens, the majority of which later converted to shops. Some of the large buildings that adjoined Frederika Terrace became well-known landmarks on the ever-growing Anlaby Road and formed a unique line of varied architectural styles, and featured two of Hull’s most ornate theatres. The area had long become synonymous with entertainment and had enjoyed a varied history of spectacle and sport.